Tags

, , , , , ,

Hey everyone! So today is October 31 (happy Halloween) but this means tomorrow is the first day of NaNoWriMo so I thought I would spend this post telling you about my novel, my history with NaNo, and my goals for this year. 
    First let me tell you about my history with NaNo. This is my second year doing NaNo, last year I wrote a novel called Road trip around the world. It was really the first thing I’ve ever wrote that wasn’t for school. I was trying to find my writing voice and I did. I didn’t plan on reaching the goal of 50,000 words, I was just trying to find out what kind of writer I was. 
      Sadly back in February the laptop I wrote this story on broke and I lost everything ( I cried a lot lol) but one day I will go back to that story but not right now. 
      This year I’m writing a book called A thousand European Summers (it’s a working title). It’s about these two families, one from London and the other from Boston, and they share a villa in Italy and they all go there every summer. We follow the perspective of a girl named Harper. 
      Harper is artist. She lives in Boston with her parents and tree other siblings. She is spontaneous and outgoing. She has naturally blond hair but always dyes it. She loves any form of art. Photography, sculpture, drawing, really anything. She never leaves home without a camera because you never know when you’ll find something beautiful. She listens to classical and acoustic music. She hopes one day to own her own art studio. 
        The present day setting of this book takes place during the summer before Harper’s senior year of high school and she is the only one from her family going to the villa this year. And the only member from the Smith family (the one that lives in London) is a boy named Owen who is the same age as Harper. And we find out that something happened the summer before between Owen and Harper and now they aren’t speaking to each other.
        There will also be flash backs from previous summer when Harper was younger and the summer before where we slowly see Harper and Owen fall for each other. I think that’s all I really want to tell you about this story right now. There are a number of other supporting characters who all have different personalities. 
       Now let’s talk about what’s going to happen to this blog this month. I will be making post to update you on my writing and I’ll share what’s going on in the story. I don’t know how often those post will go up but we’ll see. I will still be posting poems through out the month but I really don’t plan on doing much reading so I don’t think there will be any book reviews (though there should be one this Thursday) 
        In my last post I told you about how I was stressing over writing a outline and I finally did (thank goodness) and I’ve made a writing playlist and have bought snacks and coffee. I’m really nervous about the first week of NaNo because it’s my birthday on Thursday and then on Saturday we are having a big party at my house and then people are sleeping over and then on Sunday my best friend has a party that I’m going to (cries because I gotta be social) so I’m going to try to write as much as I can before then. 
      Okay well I think that’s all I have to say in this post. I hope you enjoyed and don’t forget to like, comment, and follow. Happy reading! (And writing)

