Tags

, , ,

Hey guys! Today I will be discussing The sun is also a star by Nicola Yoon. I have a few mixed feelings about this but for the most part I liked it, I gave it four stars. I thought the plot was pretty cool, even though it was a little unrealistic, and the characters kind of annoyed me. 
    This book is about two characters, a girl named Natasha and a boy named Daniel. Natasha is from Jamaica and her family is undocumented and her whole family is all about to be deported. Natasha is pretty cynical, she doesn’t believe in love, fate, destiny or anything like that. She only believes in science.

     Daniel is Korean-American and is constantly living in the shadow of his older brother. Daniel’s parents want him to go to Yale and become a doctor which is the exact opposite of what he wants. Daniel is completely different from Natasha, he’s a poet and believes in true love, the universe, and that everything is meant to be. These two characters meet one day in New York City when their whole future is about to be decided. 
    I think that’s all I want to tell you about this book, if you want to know more check out the goodreads page http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28763485-the-sun-is-also-a-star . Any ways that’s all for the none spoilers in this post, so go read the book and come to discuss it with me!
                                                                   Spoilers 

    Okay first off let’s talk about these characters. At the beginning of this book I found Natasha and Daniel kind of annoying. Natasha is really cold and pretty rude and Daniel was a love sick puppy for a some strange reason and it was really annoying. But as the book went on and we found out more about them I started to like them more, just like how Natasha and Daniel feel for each other.
    It didn’t bother me that this all took place in one day and usually I’m not a big fan of instant love but I didn’t mind it in this book though I thought them saying ‘I love you’ was pretty over the top and unrealistic.  
    I loved all the extra chapters about Irene, the lawyer and his affair (which made me cry tbh) and the security guard. And I love how everything was connected and how every small thing that happened eventually led to something big. 
   I really enjoyed reading about Natasha and Daniels crazy families, I loved that they weren’t the typical American family and It was interesting to read about how the way Natasha and Daniel were raised effected who they were and what they believed.
   Though I found the whole thing with Daniel trying to get Natasha to fall in love with him was kind of annoying I thought the question game was pretty cute. It was cute to read about all the things they did together. The karaoke and the Korean restaurant and everything else.
    The ending absolutely broke my heart. We thought Natasha was going to be able to stay in America but then Mr. Fitzgerald dropped the ball because he was cheating on his wife in a hotel room (not cool). I teared up when Natasha took Daniel home and he met her family and they she confronted her dad, it was so sad. It was so bittersweet reading their ride in the taxi and them finally having to say goodbye. 
   The epilogue was so perfect. We find out Irene turned her life around and became a fight attendant. And we heard what happen to Natasha is Jamaica and how Daniel didn’t go to Yale and that he followed his dreams. Then we see Irene on a plan and she sees Natasha and thanks her for leaving her a message saying thank you ten years ago and Natasha remembers her! And then we find out Daniel is on the same plane! He turns around and see Natasha and she sees him and then I died. I can just imagine them talking on that plane about all the years that have passed and everything they’ve missed. I’m so happy with how it ended.
    Anyways that’s all I have to say about this book, I thought I was really great, not as good as Everything, everything but still good. I hope you guys enjoyed this review and don’t forget to like, comment, and follow. Happy reading!

