Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hey everyone! I hope your all having a wonderful day! Today I will be doing another book review, this time m talking about Heartless my Marisa Meyer. This book is about the queen of hearts from the story Alice in wonderland. I’ve never been a big fan of Alice in wonder land (I think that’s because the Disney movie really scared e as a little kid.) I never liked re-tellings of this story either. Salty this book didn’t change my mind. I didn’t really enjoy it as much as I hoped.
   I found the character really self centered and kind of a brat. Wich I know is who she is but still. I only gave this book three stars but if you are a fan of Alice n wonderland I think you’ll enjoy this book. So go icky it up and see how you feel about it n then come back to red this review. 

                                                                SPOILERS

   Okay first off let’s talk about the main character, Catherine. I know that since she’s a villain your not supposed to like her but she really annoyed me. The whole book was Her complaining and being ungrateful. She’s like “My life sucks because I’m a high class citizen and I’m to high class so my parents won’t let me open a bakery and I’m being forced to marry the king ugh being rich is so hard.” This is what she sounded like THE WHOLE TIME, it was really annoying. 
   I really liked Jest though but I have no idea what on earth he saw in Catherine. I thought he was really interesting and different. I also really liked Marry Ann, Catherine’s maid. I hated the way Catherine treated her at the end of the book.
   My favorite part of this book is when Jest came to Catherine’s window and took her to the Mad hatters tea party. It was such a magical night and it was really interesting to read about the hatter before he went mad. It was nice to see all our characters just relax and hang out for a night. 
   Now let’s talk about that ending. The whole plan to go to chess and for Catherine to become queen just didn’t make any sense. I didn’t see how that would fix anything and it sounded like she would barely be able to survive the journey. When the met the sisters at that gateway think and the creepy children showed them the drawings of their future I got goosebumps. It was so creepy.
    Even though I’m glad Catherine went back to save Mary Ann it was kind of annoying cause then we knew the prophecies would come true. And then when Jest came to help I know exactly what was going to happen. 
   I didn’t think I would be but I was pretty upset when jest died. I thought he was a great character even though I knew he was going to die from the beginning. I really wish this book didn’t follow the trope of a a female villains boyfriend died and that why she became evil. I’m so tired of that being the backstory to EVERY female villain. 
   I felt bad for Catherine after jest died but it was annoying how she started yelling at people for no reason. And I hate that she blames Mary Ann for Jest death even though she chose to come back and save her. 

   Overall this wasn’t my favorite book but I still enjoyed it and I can’t wait to see what Marrisa Meyer does next. I hope you guys enjoyed this review and don’t forget to like, comment, and follow. Happy reading!

