Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hey guys! So earlier this month I made a post talking about my writing goals for 2017 which you can read here> https://fanaticbooknerd.wordpress.com/2017/01/09/reading-and-writing-goals-for-2017/in that post I mentioned doing monthly writing updates and back then I didn’t think I would have a lot to talk to you about but turns I actually do. As a few of ou know I participated in NaNoWriMo back in November, sadly I didn’t win because of some personal family stuff but I still wanted to work on my story.         So on January 16th I decided to start editing my story, I ended changing a big thing so I’ve had to rewrite the whole first draft and I love the changes I’ve made because I feel like the story flows so much better. I’m not done yet and I still have a lot to change in the second draft and then I’ll have to really start editing which will not be done.

          In case you don’t know my book is called A thousand European summers and if you want to know what it’s about you can check out this blog post I wrote about it > https://fanaticbooknerd.wordpress.com/2016/10/31/nanowrimo-16/ 

           I’m really happy with all the work I’ve done so far, the second draft currently has 24,717 words. One of the biggest changes I’ve made was that I cut out one of the characters but I think I’ll add them back in during the third draft. 

            I’ve been listening to a lot of Disney music while working on this draft and I find myself that it really gets me pumped and exciting for writing. During NaNoWriMo I posted a few snippets of my story so I decided since I’m really exciting about my writing write now I would share with you the first page of my book. Please remember I have not edited it at least yet and it’s still very early in the process so I hope you guys like it.
  

     “Please don’t make me go.” I begged my mother.

“Harper you have to come.” My mom said.

“I really rather not.” I said. 

“It’s our last summer with Ethan and Erica before they go to college, we have to go.” 

“I can’t go. I just can’t .” I told them.

“If this is about the Smiths they can’t make it this year so you don’t have to worry about them.” My mom told me.

“This isn’t about the smiths, I just don’t want to go.” I said. 

    The smiths are the family we share the villa in Italy with. Back when I was three my parents where looking for a house in Europe to spend their summers in and so were the Smiths. We both put in high offers and the owner couldn’t decide who to give it to. So my parents and the smiths decided we could share the villa so every science then we all go to to Italy every year and spend the summer together. 
  “Well what about your art? I know you wanted to make some better paintings this summer and you always do your best work when we’re in Europe.” My dad said. Sadly we was right. I don’t know what it is but whenever I’m in Italy and at the villa something is my paintings just get better, my it’s because that’s where I discovered my love for art.
  “Exactly, then you’ll have something to send out to all the art schools in the fall.” Once again they were right. I’ve been stressing out over what paintings of mine I would send out is the upcoming fall for art schools to look at. I’m proud of most of my paintings but there just weren’t any I could trust to secure my future as a artist. 
   “It won’t be for the whole summer, just a few weeks.” My mom said. 

   “Ok fine I’ll go.” I say. It doesn’t really matter I would have to go weather I wanted to or not but my parents wanted me to want to go instead of them forcing me. 
          Now a few weeks later here I am standing in the Toscana airport in Florence Italy with the rest of my family. There’s six of us, my parents, Ethan and Erica who are twins and the oldest’s then there’s me just a year younger, and the of course there’s Olive who is seven. 
      This is the airport we land in every year. It’s pretty funny when a small airport holds so many memories..

      Over where baggage claim is where Ethan tried and failed at hitting on a girl from Sweden. Over in security is where Erica’s peruse got stolen ( ironic right). And over where the Starbucks is where mom realized she was pregnant with Olive after she threw up on the plan the whole way here. 
   “You doing ok there Harper?” My dad asks. He asking me this because I got sick on the plane, this happens every time I’m on a plane. 

   “Yeah I’m good thanks dad.” I say.

   “It’s comforting to know we can always count on Harper getting sick no matter what.” Ethan says and I shoot him an annoyed look. Everyone is pretty exhausted in fact Olive is sound asleep and we haven’t been able to wake her up since we landed. Erica looks extremely annoyed probably cause she hasn’t had any coffee in the past twelve hours. We go across the street and rent a car from the rental car place just like we do every year. Mom and Erica feel asleep in the waiting room so me and Ethan have to entertain Olive who is now wide awake. 
   Well I hope you guys liked that and I want to hear your comments and opinions. Let me know if you would like me to share more from my book it the future. I will doing these kind of posts at least once a month. Don’t forget to like, comment, and follow. Happy reading! Or writing!

