Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Hey guys! Today I will be reviewing The Book Jumper by Mechthild Gläser. This book doesn’t come out till July 20th but for some reason my Barnes and noble already had it on the shelf so I was able to get it super early. 
    Description:

Amy Lennox doesn’t know quite what to expect when she and her mother pick up and leave Germany for Scotland, heading to her mother’s childhood home of Lennox House on the island of Stormsay.

Amy’s grandmother, Lady Mairead, insists that Amy must read while she resides at Lennox House but not in the usual way. It turns out that Amy is a book jumper, able to leap into a story and interact with the world inside. As thrilling as Amy’s new power is, it also brings danger: someone is stealing from the books she visits, and that person may be after her life. Teaming up with fellow book jumper Will, Amy vows to get to the bottom of the thefts at whatever cost.”
    I really enjoyed this book though it wasn’t my favorite but it was still really enjoyable. The story is so unique and it feels like a love letter to reading. So many amazing pieces of literature were referenced and we got to see and interact with all kinds of characters. Characters from the the jungle book, Pride and prejudice, Peter Pan, and a couple others. I recommend this book to anyone who loves reading and to anyone who has ever dreamed of being a character in their favorite book. 

     There’s this great element of mystery in this book. You ink you know what’s going on but then there’s another twist that turns this story right on its head. 

      These characters are all very different and have barely anything in common. We have Amy our main character who unlike most ya protagonist she is really skinny and has been bullied most of her life because of it. I liked her character but she could have had more development in my opinion. 

     Then there’s her mother Alexis who we really didn’t see a lot of in This book. I didn’t trust her and I thought she was hiding something. Her character seems a little unhinged and doesn’t really know what she’s doing as a mother.

     There’s also Will who oh my goodness his child most be protected at all cost. He’s a great friend to Amy and I love how their relationship grows through out this book.

     Overall I really enjoyed this book and I hope we get more stories set in this world with these characters. I gave this book four out of five stars. I hope you guys enjoyed this review and don’t forget to like, comment, and follow. Happy reading!

